Home

Brrrrrr. It’s bloomin’ cold isn’t it? Even I’m freezing, and I never normally get chilly. That might have something to do with the fact my boiler has just died, though, and can’t be replaced for a fortnight. I know there hasn’t really been any snow in York yet, but I hear there have been sightings of sleet, and with no central heating I’m walking around the house in about eighteen layers, socks and gloves. Thank goodness for little electric heaters, hot dinners and kettles.

It doesn’t help that the news keeps telling me that we’re expecting a mini ice age too, so I’ve been trying to think of ways to stay warm. There’s always the option of going to the gym and doing exercise until I feel toasty, but let’s not go overboard! I already have about forty-seven varieties of tea, so I’m sorted for hot drinks, but, like a squirrel hoarding acorns for the crueler months, I also need to stockpile some more books.

Even before I worked in a library, one of my greatest pleasures in life was popping in, browsing the shelves and leaving with a bag full of novels. I’d take them home and arrange them in a pile, in order of preference, so I could read the titles that looked most enticing first. After that, no one would see me for days. I always adored that feeling of having a stash of books to read – knowing that I wouldn’t run out any time soon. Sometimes I imagine what would happen if my house got snowed in during a cold spell, and I was left without anything new to read – perish the thought. I can cope without central heating but not without decent reading material.

So, I’ve been hoarding. I’ve got a lovely, tall stack of tomes by my bed at the moment, and I’ve ordered a few more. Once they arrive I should be safe if a sudden snow storm cuts me off from all sources of new books. However, if you’re currently lacking for reading inspiration to keep you going through the darkest days of the year I’ve dug out some titles to keep you toasty during the long, cold nights. You might spot a certain theme developing, of a fiery nature – I think it made me shiver a tiny bit less just to list them for you.

You can click on any of the images below to be taken to their catalogue record.

Fiery (General) Fiction

secrets of a fire king your house is on fire playing with fire love is a fervent fire

live fire land of fire imperial fire friendly fire

flood of fire flames of fortune fire point fire in the eastfire in the blood fire gospel fire force differentfire flowers fire below fire and sword desert firechasing fire cross of fire daughters of fire brother of firea wonderful use for fire a durable fire after the fire a still small voice born in fireindexCA3WY2VJ

Heated Crime

satan's fire rizzo's fire river of fire playing with fire

playing with fire different play with fire memory of flames invention of fire

into the fire hell's fire free fire fire witness

fire spirit fire kimono fire in the flint fire dance

fire and brimstone dying flames dark fire cross fire

cleansing flames city of fire after the fire after the fire different

Flame-Fuelled Fantasy and Sci-FI

witch fire vision of fire secrets of the fire sea oceans of fire

mortal fire luka and the fire of life light my fire in fire forged (disposable)

firewalker fire sea fire me up fire caste

dragon's fire darkness forged in fire branded by fire born of fire

Red-Hot Romance

to play with fire wildfire up in flames touch of fire

playing with fire instant fire heart of fire fire and ice

fire after dark face the fire Dark Fire dancing with fire

hot ticket one hot country summer husbands hot to trot

hot pursuit hot house flower a winter flame cave of fire

Hot and Spicy

the world's best spicy food spice spice odysseyspice layers spice at home smart soups

slow cooking seasonal baking rice spice and all things nice

nice and spicy mighty spice hot and spicy

hot and spicy 2 good old fashioned comfort puddings fresh spice

everyday spice comfort and spice citrus and spice

cinamon spice chilli chilli notes

Cosy Crafts

woodland knits wooly woofers wrapped in crochet

the knit parade tea cosies scarves and wraps

scarves and cowls scandavian christmas stockings quilt a gift

nicky epstein knitted socks knitted slippers

knitted animals knits for home hip knits

hats gloves and scarves hand knitted nursery funky chunky knitted

funky chunky crochet fleece fantastic felt so good

fab feet crochet at play cosy

big hook crochet animal hats a good yarn

As ever, I’d love to hear your comments about which books make you feel warm, and if you’ve read any of our suggestions please do let us know what you thought of them

Leave a Comment